Resources for new designers and publishers

Gradine

The Elephant in the Room (she/her)
The internet is chock-a-block full of advice for DMs and game masters from the widest possible range of styles and theories. But one thing I've noticed a lack of is advice for burgeoning designers and publishers. DMs Guild and DriveThruRPG products don't burst forth fully formed from the forehead of Zeus; clearly a lot of work goes into not only the game design but all aspects of the publishing process, from editing and play-testing to formatting and layout. What are some of the best resources you've used when you started out on the journey yourselves that helped guide you to where you are now?

overgeeked

B/X Known World
I've been a freelancer for game companies and worked in book publishing, but I'm not really an indie game publisher. Here are some bits and bobs that might be useful.

DIY. Short of spending a lot hiring people to do everything, do-it-yourself as much as you can. Use as many free and royalty free resources as possible, otherwise you'll eat up a lot of money buying things you don't really need. Start off by actually studying the thing you're going to try to do yourself. See what's being talked about in those areas in relation to your stuff. Making an OSR style game or book? Start by reading up on what's going on with the OSR first and see what the community likes and where their tastes are.

Free fonts. This is a link to Fontesk's OFL (open font license) fonts. The OFL is effectively the non-revocable OGL for fonts. You can read about the license here. They are 100% free for commercial use. Though they are mostly display fonts (titles and book covers), a lot of them are also suitable for use as regular book text. There are quite a few lookalike fonts that you will recognize. It's perfectly legal as the original sources these fonts were made from are old enough to be public domain. I'm not a lawyer, but I am a font nerd.