• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Reading 1.1 legalese

Enrahim2

Adventurer
There are already some threads discussing the release of claimed full text version of the OGL-1.1. Those I have seen have so far focused on discussing the validity of the document, and continued speculating around the consequences. These are fine discussions, but I wanted to make a thread for trying to make a more deep dive into the legal formulations that we now have. What I am curious about is things like if there are some non-obvious meanings or pitfalls that might not be obvious to the lay person; if there are things that might seem weird but is indeed quite common; or if there are anything that seem unusual/nonsensical (preferably beyond the already much discussed "no longer an authorized version"

I am not a lawyer, but I still have some thoughts that I hope to share soon, but want to get this thread started in case others also are burning to talk about this angle of the new developments.

The legalese has been discussed pretty extensively. The most important parts of it were in the previous leaks. Deauthorization and its legality has been one of the central discussions (TLDR: no-one is sure). I'm not saying shut your thread down but it does seem unnecessary.

Cadence

Legend
Supporter
The legalese has been discussed pretty extensively. The most important parts of it were in the previous leaks. Deauthorization has been one of the central discussions. I'm not saying shut your thread down but it does seem unnecessary.

The part that floored me was where they could make you pick up their legal fees for defending you if they thought you weren't doing it well enough. Is that a thing that shows up in other licenses?

Enrahim2

Adventurer