• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

D&D 2E 2e Kits into 4e Themes

Knightfall

World of Kulan DM
First, let me say that I was a huge fan of character kits in 2e. I collected all of the Complete Handbooks and loved almost all of them.

I find that 4e character themes are very similar but with a more balanced design philosophy. I'm a bit disappointed that WotC has canned the book that was going to give us more themes, yet it leaves the idea of new themes wide open for the fans to create.

Therefore, my plan is to try to convert some of my favorite 2e kits into 4e themes.

Note that I am hoping to get some help and/feedback from everyone since I'm a bit of a newb when it come to designing stuff for 4e. All help will be appreciated and if another EN Worlder want to run with an idea, then I say do it!

First on my list are two of my favorite kits -- the blade kit for the bard and the stalker kit for the ranger.

Note: I have the 2e core rules/expansion CDs so I have access to most of the 2e Complete books.

Bard Kits
Blade (in progress)
Herald
Skald
True Bard

Druid Kits
Outlaw
Savage
Wanderer

Fighter Kits
Barbarian
Beast-Rider
Myrmidon

Paladin Kits
Inquisitor
Skyrider
Wyrmslayer

Priest Kits
Amazon Priestess
Fighting-Monk

Ranger Kits
Justifier
Stalker

Thief Kits
Buccaneer
Swashbuckler

Wizard Kits
Patrician
Witch

Last edited:

Knightfall

World of Kulan DM
Theme Format

Theme Name

TRAITS
Secondary Role: --
Power Source: --
Granted Power: --

THEME POWERS

Granted Power [Theme Name Feature]
Encounter

Level 2 Utility Power

Power Name [Theme Name Utility 2]

Level 3 Encounter Power

Power Name [Theme Name Attack 3]

Level 5 Daily Power

Power Name [Theme Name Attack 5]

Level 6 Utility Power

Power Name [Theme Name Utility 6]

Level 7 Encounter Power

Power Name [Theme Name Attack 7]

Level 9 Daily Power