CC: Is "For Use With 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons" allowed

Reynard

Legend
I'm curious and wondering if any of the lawyery folks can give me an answer:

If I publish a 5E adventure and cite the srd released under CC-BY, can I put "For Use With 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons" on the cover?

MoonSong

Rules-lawyering drama queen but not a munchkin
I'm curious and wondering if any of the lawyery folks can give me an answer:

If I publish a 5E adventure and cite the srd released under CC-BY, can I put "For Use With 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons" on the cover?
Yes. Nominative use to indicate compatibility is a limitation on Trademark. As long as trade dress isn't confusing, that is.

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
Obviously I am not a lawyer, or your lawyer, and can only do what you can do -- read the license. However, doing so:

CC-BY, s3.a.3 -- "If requested by the Licensor, You must remove any of the information required by Section 3(a)(1)(A) to the extent reasonably practicable."

It is, in my view, reasonably practical to remove that attribution, so the license requires you to do so. WotC has requested as such with the phrase "Please do not include any other attribution regarding Wizards other than that provided above."

I have a guide on using CC here:

Obviously, consult your own lawyer, but that is my reading of the license. Not your lawyer, etc.

Page 1 of the SRD v5.1 CC-BY 4.0 is pretty clear.

The System Reference Document 5.1 is provided to you free of charge under the terms of the Creative Commons
Attribution 4.0 International License (“CC-BY-4.0”). You are free to use this content in any manner permitted by
that license as long as you include the following attribution statement in your own work:

This work includes material taken from the System Reference Document 5.1 (“SRD 5.1”) by Wizards of
the Coast LLC and available at Systems Reference Document | Dungeons & Dragons. The